About Us

Board of Directors         Administrative Office Staff

SCMCAA About usThe idea of Community Action came out of the enactment of the Economic Opportunity Act (EOA) of 1964. The overall purpose of the statute was to eliminate the causes and conditions of poverty in the United States. Under the Act, a federal Office of Economic Opportunity was established, state Economic Opportunity offices were formed, and new community-based organizations called Community Action Agencies evolved.

South Central Missouri Community Action Agency was incorporated in 1965 under the Equal Opportunity Act, 1964 as a not-for-profit Community Action Agency serving the counties of Butler, Carter, Dent, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon and Wayne.

"...it is therefore the policy of the United States to eliminate the paradox of poverty in the midst of plenty in this nation by opening to everyone, the opportunity for education and training, the opportunity to work, and the opportunity to live in decency and dignity." Pres. Lyndon B. Johnson

What Is Our Mission?

SCMCAA About usThe mission of South Central Missouri Community Action Agency is to assist low-income families in their efforts to become self-sufficient by providing programs and services to improve the quality of their lives and the opportunity to eliminate the causes and conditions of poverty.

What Is Our Vision? 

For Families

All families are supported in their goals to be self sufficient.  They are viewed not as burdens to society but as productive citizens who can make a positive difference.  We envision families who have the potential to improve their own lives and the determination to help others.  Our vision is that all families are self reliant and have support systems in their community.

For Communities

Our community vision is not defined by geographical boundaries or stock market analyses.  We envision our communities as large families concerned with the well-being of all its citizens.  We want neighborhoods that are safe and growing, employers who are fair and rewarding and academic institutions that are innovative and achieving.  Our vision is that communities invest in their people, realizing that human investment reaps the greatest returns. 

For Agency

The agency will be a leader in south central Missouri by providing innovative and creative solutions for families and communities grappling with the effects of poverty. Through established partnerships and human connections we will use our best tools and resources against an enemy that threatens the lives and livelihood of the people we serve.  Our vision as an agency is to end poverty - one family at a time.

South Central Missouri Community Action Agency
2018-2019 Board of Directors


About Us

South Central Missouri Community Action Agency is governed by a twenty-one member tri-partite Board of Directors.  One-third of the board is elected public officials or their representatives. One-third is representatives of business, industry, labor, religion, welfare, education, or other major groups and interests in the community.  One-third is individuals who represent the poor in the area served.  The tri-partite composition of membership provides for the actual problems experienced by the poor to be voiced by their representatives and responded to by the representatives of the business and local government.

Butler Judy Moss Low-Income CASA
  Ed DeGaris Public
City of Poplar Bluff-Councilman
  Robert Smith Private Attorney-at-Law
Carter Richard Clyburn Low-Income East Carter Co. Nutrition Center
  Mary Godsy Public Carter Co. Circuit Clerk
  Marsha Towner Private Whole Health Outreach
Dent Barry Baugh Low-Income Salem United Methodist Church
  Dennis Purcell(President) Public Associate Commissioner
  Lelia Cotner(Vice Pres.) Private Dent Co. Shelter Workshop
Reynolds Dale Hawkins Low-Income Black River Baptist Food Pantry
  Doug Warren Public County Commissioner
  Beth Buford Private Great Southern Bank
Ripley Betty Hampton Low-Income Ripley Co. Sheltered Workshop
  Mike Barton Public

Ripley Co. Sheriff

  Ruth Austin               Private  Kiwanis Club
Shannon Colleen Detwiler (Sec.) Low-Income Shannon Co. Sheltered Workshop
  Roger Dillon (Treas.) Private Chamber of Commerce
  Ryan Liggett Public Eminence School Board Memeber
Wayne Kim Combs Low-Income Clearwater Ministerial Alliance
  Chad Henson Public Wayne Co. Commissioner
  Bill McMurry Private Chamber of Commerce
  Elizabeth Price                     PC/Board Liason


Ann Smith

Ann Smith - Executive Director

Administrative Office

8055 Old Alton Road, P.O. Box 6
Winona, MO 65588

E-mail: scmcaa@hotmail.com

Phone: (573) 325-4255  Fax: (573) 325-4542

Hours of Operation:   Monday - Friday
7:30 a.m.- 5:30 p.m.

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
All voice telephone numbers in this email may be reached by persons using TTY/TDD equipment via the Missouri Relay Service at 711



Leadership Team

Ann Smith - Executive Director                                                                                   Email: atsmith@scmcaa.org

Frances Akers - Executive Secretary                                                                            Email: fakers@scmcaa.org

Heather Howell- Head Start Director                                                                           Email: hhowell@scmcaa.org

Gary Nichols - Energy Director                                                                                   Email: gnichols@scmcaa.org

Brandie Alley - Finance Director                                                                                 Email: balley@scmcaa.org

Ginger Hill - Community Services Director                                                                Email: ghill@scmcaa.org

Cindy Bridges - Youth Training and Special Projects Director                                   Email: cjbridges@scmcaa.org

Denise Faulkner - Human Resources Manager                                                           Email: dfaulkner@scmcaa.org

Sara Bell - MIECHV Director                                                                                        Email: sbell@scmcaa.org

Cathy Hicks - Functional Leader - Career Center                                                       Email: chicks@scmcaa.org

Myra Martin - Program Operations Manager - ERSEA                                              Email: mmartin@scmcaa.org

Mary Nance - Program Operations - Professional Development                               Email: mnance@scmcaa.org

Heather Grant - Senior Accountant/IT Manager                                                         Email: hgrant@scmcaa.org

Comments are closed.